Shamar

Clearing up misconceptions about the Christian faith and defending it.

Why am I doing this?

Leave a comment

A few years ago, I had the opportunity to enter a synagogue. I would like to state right at the start that I am absolutely pro-Israel. When I read the Old Testament, I am fascinated with the way God loved and chose the Israelis as His own special people. So, with this mindset firmly in place, one day, I got a chance to enter a synagogue. It was quite serendipitous, actually. My sister had wanted to meet the Rabbi, but since he was unavailable, the helpers asked us to go into the synagogue, if we wanted to. I believe they thought we were Jewish and we did not bother to correct them.

The inside of the synagogue was charming and as we entered, we fell into a reverent hush. This was the place God’s beloved race gathered to worship Him every Sabbath. I felt all the awe and seriousness that ought to go with that knowledge. I looked around at the pews, the altar, the old fashioned ornate chandeliers, the books, the furnishings. Blue, that was the colour of the walls. And then I thought: But as lovely as this is, I would never exchange being a Christian for this. It was a defining moment in my faith. In that one moment, all my priorities were set straight: I am Christian and I choose that over being anything else any day. No matter how amazing the Jews are as a race and what wondrous things are associated with them, it is Christians who honour Yahoshua Christ by believing in His sacrifice. Jews do not. And that’s how simple it all is.

In my heart there is a soft spot for Jews, but an even softer spot for Christians, who are my people. I am protective of them, I can’t explain why. That is the reason I have put this blog up: in order to encourage those I know and open the Word out to them, so the Bible stops being a mystery or a too-heavy read, but becomes transparent, revealing who God–Yahowah–is and what He talks about in the book. I can see how the world is changing around us and I can see the implications of events for Christians. Now, more than ever, we need to get back to God’s Word and understand what He has told us millenniums ago about the times we live in today.

I sincerely wish you benefit from it. Do read and stay beautifully strong in our Christ.

Shalome.

Leave a comment